Max Weiler in front of the Austrian pavilion at the XXX. Biennale in Venice, 1960

It is not at all unusual for artists to return to themes found in their earlier works, to develop variations or, particularly in modern art, to create series. Such phenomena have been important and common as far back as Monet's "Cathedrals", Jawlensky's "Meditations" and Josef Albers' series "Homage to the Square". We encounter something different with Weiler, however. After considerable intervals of time, he returned to a few key paintings, transposing into his latest style those elements of them that had preoccupied him. As a result, we observe significantly different stylistic attitudes to an unchanged theme. But what is that theme? Can we even speak of thematic continuity given Weiler's progression from figurative to partly or completely abstract paintings? Closer observation shows that Weiler's purpose in returning to his theme was to capture the essence of the original painting, to follow the way it changed over time.


Weiler's sequences of paintings create strata in time. His works may fall into the category of painting about painting, but he was inspired by an interest in defining his own position rather in formal aspects. It is as if he carefully mapped out the historical space of his work and the framework within which he operated. This can be seen particularly clearly in his variations on "The Peasant Family" and his "Song of Songs" paintings.


The marriage of creator and creature, who are united in love, was as characteristic of Weiler as was his attempt, in a difficult personal and historical environment (1938-1945) following the collapse of the ideals of "Bund Neuland", to create a new foundation for his work through meticulous observation of human beings and nature. To see what is there: that maxim expresses his continuity. After 1945 Weiler returned to this earthly, worldly way of looking, which was deeply rooted in reality and the premises for which had already been created in the late 1930s.

Nature (from the Song of Songs I), 1933
Resin oil on plywood
171 x 121 cm
From the Song of Songs II, 1957
Oil on canvas
146 x 96 cm
From the Song of Songs III (Nature, painting - edged with white), 1959/60
Oil on canvas
150 x 108 cm
The peasant family, 1941
Oil on canvas
200 x 200 cm
Land Tirol Landessammlung
Transformed peasant family (painting - grey, composition I), 1958/59
Oil, egg tempera on canvas
114,5 x 143 cm
Sammlung Bank Austria
Further transformation of the peasant family (painting on yellow-orange and green), 1958/59
Oil on canvas
90 x 115 cm
Sammlung Dr. Wolfgang Klocker, Innsbruck
Last transformation of the peasant family (painting - light ground. Light ground with primeval figures), 1960
Oil, egg tempera on canvas
198 x 205 cm

Max Weiler vor dem Österreich-Pavillon auf der XXX. Biennale in Venedig, 1960

Es ist keineswegs ungewöhnlich, dass Künstler eigene Themen wieder aufnehmen, mit Variationen arbeiten oder auch, besonders unter modernen Vorzeichen, die Serie pflegen. Spätestens seit Monets "Kathedralbildern", den "Meditationen" von Jawlensky oder seit Josef Albers "Ehrungen an das Quadrat" sind derartige Phänomene wichtig und geläufig. Bei Weiler liegt aber etwas anderes vor. In erheblichen zeitlichen Abständen hat er wenige Schlüsselbilder seiner Arbeit wieder aufgegriffen und dasjenige, was ihn daran beschäftigt hatte, in die jeweils aktuelle Darstellungsform übersetzt. So beobachten wir denkbar verschiedene stilistische Attitüden, bei gleichbleibendem Thema. Aber worin besteht eigentlich das Thema? Kann man beim Übergang von der Figuration zu abstrahierenden bzw. zu abstrakten Bildern überhaupt noch von thematischer Kontinutät reden? Genauer betrachtet, geht es dem Künstler darum, in der Wiederaufnahme des Themas die Wirklichkeit des schon bestehenden Ausgangsbildes mitzugewinnen. Sie in ihren Brechungen, durch die Zeit hindurch, zu verfolgen.


Die Sequenz der Gemälde bildet Zeitschichtungen aus. So gesehen ist es Malerei über Malerei, aber sehr viel weniger aus einem formalen Interesse denn aus dem einer Bestimmung seiner eigenen Position. Wir haben es gleichsam mit Messvorgängen im historischen Raum der eigenen Arbeit und ihrer Rahmenbedingungen zu tun. Das lässt sich besonders gut an den Variationen der "Bauernfamilie" oder des "Hohen Liedes" verfolgen.


Die Hochzeit von Schöpfer und Geschöpf, die einander in Liebe zugetan sind, war für Weiler ebenso exemplarisch wie sein Versuch, in exponierter persönlicher und zeitgeschichtlicher Lage (1938-1945) nach dem Untergang der Bund-Neuland-Ideale durch genaue Beobachtung von Mensch und Natur ein neues Fundament der eigenen Arbeit zu begründen. Sehen, was ist: mit dieser Devise ist seine Kontinuität markiert. Nach 1945 hat er an diese ganz irdische, diesseitige und wirklichkeitsgesättigte Sichtweise wieder angeknüpft. Die Voraussetzungen dafür aber sind schon am Ende der dreissiger Jahre gelegt worden.

Natur (Aus dem Hohen Lied I), 1933
Harzöl auf Sperrholz gebeizt
171 x 121 cm
Aus dem Hohen Lied II, 1957
Öl auf Leinwand
146 x 96 cm
Aus dem Hohen Lied III (Natur, Malerei - am Rande weiß), 1959/60
Öl auf Leinwand
150 x 108 cm
Die Bauernfamilie, 1941
Öl auf Leinwand
200 x 200 cm
Land Tirol Landessammlung
Verwandelte Bauernfamilie (Malerei - grau, Komposition I), 1958/59
Öl, Eitempera auf Leinwand
114,5 x 143 cm
Sammlung Bank Austria
Die nächste Verwandlung der Bauernfamilie (Malerei auf gelborange grün), 1958/59
Öl auf Leinwand
90 x 115 cm
KR Dr. Hans und Dr. Wolfgang Klocker Stiftung, Innsbruck
Letzte Verwandlung der Bauernfamilie (Malerei - heller Grund. Heller Grund mit urtümlichen Gestalten), 1960
Öl, Eitempera auf Leinwand
198 x 205 cm