Max Weiler, 1990
Photo: Franz Hubmann

Max Weiler: Like a Symphony (1990)


Max Weiler (1910-2001) painted the monumental masterpiece Like a Symphony, (egg tempera on canvas, 500 x 630 cm) at the age of 80 for an ‘audio room’ of the Salzburg regional exhibition “Mozart – Bilder und Klänge” (Images and Sounds) (1991) in Kleßheim Palace. The painting found a representative home in the Karl Böhm Saal of the Salzburg Festival Hall since the summer of 2008, providing an opportunity to contemplate afresh the manifold aspects of this complex artwork and to remember Weiler’s long-standing relationship to Clemens Holzmeister, the architect of the Festival Halls, and to the city of Salzburg. In the book published for this occasion, the art historian Thomas Zaunschirm also poses the question of the tension-filled relationship between painting and music in Modernism.


On view:

On permanent loan from the Max Weiler Private Foundation Vienna, the painting Like a Symphony (1990) is on show in the Karl Böhm Saal since July 2008. It can be viewed not just during the intervals of Felsenreitschule performances, in the House for Mozart or on the occasion of events, but also within the framework of the Salzburg Festival during guided tours, available in the festival shop Hofstallgasse 1.


  • January to May daily 2 p.m.
  • June, September daily 2 p.m., 3.30 p.m.
  • July, August daily 9.30 p.m., 2 p.m., 3.30 p.m.
  • October to December daily 2 p.m.

  • Tel.:+43 (0)662-849097

    www.salzburgfestival.at



    ...........................


    From the book:

    Max Weiler and Clemens Holzmeister, Max Weiler in Salzburg, Symphonic art, The painting, A picture finds its home - the Karl Böhm Saal


    Thomas Zaunschirm

    Max Weiler: Like a Symphony – Hommage à Mozart

    German/Englisch

    96 pages, copious colour illustrations

    20 x 24 cm, stitched paperback

    16.50 €

    ISBN 978-3-7025-0592-9


    ...........................



    In Salzburg, the art historian and art writer, Wieland Schmied, is very well-known as president of the International Summer Academy of Fine Arts (1980-1999). 1988-1993, he was rector of the Academy of Fine Arts, Munich and from 1995-2004, president of the Bavarian Academy of Fine Arts. On the occasion of his reunion with the picture Like a Symphony in the Festival Hall Salzburg, he noted down his impressions. We warmly thank him for his permission to print his text.



    The painting “Like a Symphony“ by Max Weiler


    Max Weiler (1910-2001) called this mural, which was executed in 1990 and intended for the then exhibition “Hommage à Mozart”, with measurements of 5 x 6,30 meters, Like a Symphony. With this title, he continues the picture series produced in the 60s Like A Landscape. The painting – realised in egg tempera on canvas – is a highly impressive artwork, convincing in many respects.


    We should take the title seriously, because it is not accidental. Max Weiler has chosen it with care. Like a composer, who wishes to give expression to the macrocosm of the world in his symphony, Max Weiler wants to embrace the world’s totality in a single painting. This he wants to achieve exclusively through the means of fine art; more explicitly: with his own means, developed by himself, with which he was able to touch “the spiritual in nature“ – as designated by Gottfried Boehm.


    The music unfolding in time only knows the order of succession. Yet, the painting utilising space orders its elements side by side. We perceive these elements simultaneously; or in any case, we can enjoy their effect simultaneously. Because of these different effects of music and painting alone, it seems pointless to look for direct analogies between the two media in Weiler’s painting. Basically, the colours are liberated from all symbolism in Weiler’s artistic piece. No concrete fixed meaning can be attributed to the forms of his late work (to which the mural Like A Symphony certainly belongs). Figurative associations are impossible. Colours and forms are like the sounds of music, abstract; their abstractism corresponds to the abstract nature of music.


    The term “symphony” suggests – even though employed outside of the field of music – an all-embracing gesture linking all that it seizes, in a sensuous and harmonious way. Since such a gesture, embracing all phenomena, cannot be attained “at a stroke“ and uno actu, the musical form of the symphony subdivides into single movements, differing with regard to their sound sequences, their tempi, their rhythm; partly also through their instrumentalisation. Through their recurring (and recognisable) leitmotifs, however, these movements remain correlative and interconnected. Whoever wants to encompass the world as a whole, in order to approach it in ever changing ways, will experience it Like a Symphony. It is too rich and too multifarious, in order to be comprehended in a single act.


    By calling his mural Like a Symphony, Max Weiler assumes the major claim predetermined by the musical form. His pictorial composition, too, knows of single “movements“. The composition coheres in highly complex ways from single sections, which nevertheless – even though artistically intertwined – are each respected in their own character. Thus, in Weiler’s painting, the colour blue clearly dominates down below at the picture’s right side and the colour violet on the right side above; on the left side in contrast, the colour green prevails and in the painting’s centre above, the colour red. The colour spectrum encompasses the diversity of a spiritualised world. Even though there are transitions, overlappings and interconnections between the single colours, the viewer senses clearly: Weiler pays heed to the individuality of each colour, he pays respect to it and treats it with love. This belongs among the secrets of this painting: The painter clearly separates the colours from each other and allows them to rule in the region allocated to them. He knows to link them, without mixing them. In this way, they retain their distinctive character, their own sound, and fuse at the same time to a harmonious painting that is obliged to common ground and inter-connection. Max Weiler tells us: It is okay to accept this world. It is endlessly rich, if only we examined it attentively enough.


    Wieland Schmied

    Like a Symphony, 1990
    Eggtempera on canvas
    500 x 630 cm
    Like a Symphony, 1990
    Egg tempera on canvas
    500 x 630 cm
    Original situation in the audio room 4 of the Salzburg regional exhibition "Mozart – Images and Sounds" (in Kleßheim Palace in Salzburg, 1991)
    Like a Symphony, 1990
    Karl-Böhm-Saal Festspielhaus Salzburg
    Interior view
    Like a Symphony, 1990
    Karl-Böhm-Saal Festspielhaus Salzburg
    Interior view
    Detail aus "Wie eine Symphonie", 1990

Max Weiler, 1990
Foto: Franz Hubmann

Max Weiler: Wie eine Symphonie (1990)


Max Weiler (1910-2001) schuf das monumentale Meisterwerk Wie eine Symphonie (Eitempera auf Leinwand, 500x630 cm) achtzigjährig für einen Hörraum der Salzburger Landesausstellung Mozart – Bilder und Klänge (1991) im Schloß Kleßheim. Dass das Gemälde seit dem Sommer 2008 im Karl-Böhm-Saal des Salzburger Festspielhauses seinen repräsentativen Ort findet, bietet Gelegenheit, die vielfältigen Aspekte des komplexen Werkes erneut zu betrachten und an Weilers langjährige Beziehungen zu Clemens Holzmeister, dem Architekten der Festspielhäuser, und zur Stadt Salzburg zu erinnern. Der Kunsthistoriker Thomas Zaunschirm stellt in seinem Text des zu diesem Anlass erschienen Buches auch die Frage nach dem in der Moderne spannungsreichen Verhältnis von Malerei und Musik.



Besichtigung:

Als Dauerleihgabe der Max Weiler–Privatstiftung Wien ist das Gemälde Wie eine Symphonie (1990) seit Juli 2008 im Karl-Böhm-Saal nicht nur während der Pausen der Aufführungen in der Felsenreitschule, im Haus für Mozart oder bei Veranstaltungen zu sehen. Auch im Rahmen der von den Festspielen im Festspielshop Hofstallgasse 1 angebotenen Führungen kann Wie eine Symphonie besichtigt werden.


  • Jänner bis Mai täglich 14.00 Uhr
  • Juni, September täglich 14.00, 15.30 Uhr
  • Juli, August täglich 9.30, 14.00, 15.30 Uhr
  • Oktober bis Dezember täglich 14.00 Uhr

  • Tel.:+43(0)662-849097

    www.salzburgfestival.at



    ...........................


    Aus dem Inhalt der Buches:

    Max Weiler und Clemens Holzmeister, Max Weiler in Salzburg, Symphonik, Das Bild, Ein Bild findet seinen Ort - Der Karl-Böhm-Saal


    Thomas Zaunschirm

    Max Weiler: Wie eine Symphonie – Hommage à Mozart

    Deutsch/englisch

    96 Seiten, zahlreiche Farbabbildungen

    20x24 cm, französische Broschur

    16.50 €

    ISBN 978-3-7025-0592-9


    ...........................



    In Salzburg ist der Kunsthistoriker und Kunstschriftsteller Wieland Schmied als Präsident der Internationalen Sommerakademie (1980-1999) gut bekannt. 1988-1993 war er Rektor der Akademie der Bildenden Künste München und 1995-2004 Präsident der Bayerischen Akademie der Schönen Künste. Bei seiner ersten Wiederbegegnung mit dem Bild Wie eine Symphonie im Festspielhaus Salzburg hat er seine Eindrücke niedergeschrieben. Für die Erlaubnis, seinen Text abzudrucken, sei ihm herzlich gedankt.



    Das Bild Wie eine Symphonie von Max Weiler


    Max Weiler (1910-2001) hat sein 1990 entstandenes – für die damalige Ausstellung Hommage à Mozart bestimmtes – Wandbild mit den Maßen 5 x 6,30 Meter Wie eine Symphonie genannt. Mit dieser Namensgebung schließt er an die Titel der in den sechziger Jahren entstandenen Bild-Reihe Wie eine Landschaft an. Es ist – in Eitempera auf Leinwand ausgeführt – ein höchst eindrucksvolles Gemälde geworden, das in vielfacher Hinsicht überzeugt.


    Wir sollten den Titel ernst nehmen. Er ist kein Zufall. Max Weiler hat ihn bewußt gewählt. Wie ein Komponist in seiner Symphonie der Gesamtheit der Welt Ausdruck verleihen will, so möchte Max Weiler das Ganze der Welt in einem einzigen Bild umfassen, und er möchte dies ausschließlich mit den Mitteln der bildenden Kunst erreichen, genauer: mit seinen eigenen, von ihm selbst entwickelten Mitteln, mit denen er an das „Geistige in der Natur“ – wie es Gottfried Boehm genannt hat – rühren konnte.


    Die Musik, die sich in der Zeit entfaltet, kennt nur die Ordnung des Nacheinander. Die Malerei, die den Raum nutzt, ordnet ihre Elemente im Nebeneinander, das wir gleichzeitig wahrnehmen, jedenfalls gleichzeitig auf uns wirken lassen können. Allein wegen dieser unterschiedlichen Wirkungsweise von Musik und Malerei erscheint es müßig, in Weilers Bild nach direkten Analogien zwischen den beiden Medien suchen zu wollen. Die Farben sind bei Weiler grundsätzlich von aller Symbolik befreit. Die Formen haben in seinem Spätwerk (zu dem wir auch das Wandbild Wie eine Symphonie rechnen dürfen) keinerlei konkret festzulegende Bedeutung. Gegenständliche Assoziationen sind hier ausgeschlossen. Farben und Formen sind wie die Klänge der Musik abstrakt, ihre Abstraktheit entspricht der Abstraktheit der Musik.


    Der Begriff Symphonie suggeriert – auch wenn er außerhalb des Feldes der Musik angewandt wird – eine allumfassende Gebärde, die das, was sie ergreift, sinnvoll und harmonisch miteinander verbindet. Da eine solche, alle Phänomene umschließende Gebärde nicht „auf einen Schlag“ und uno actu zu erreichen ist, gliedert sich die musikalische Form der Symphonie in einzelne Sätze, die sich durch ihre Klangfolgen, ihre Tempi, ihren Rhythmus, teilweise auch durch ihre Instrumentalisierung unterscheiden, aber durch ihre wiederkehrenden (und wiedererkennbaren) Leitmotive aufeinander bezogen und miteinander verbunden bleiben. Wer die Welt als Ganzes umfassen will, um sich ihr auf immer wieder andere Weise anzunähern, dem zeigt sie sich Wie eine Symphonie. Sie ist zu reich und zu vielfältig, um in einem einzigen Akt erfaßt zu werden.


    Wenn Max Weiler sein Wandbild Wie eine Symphonie nennt, dann nimmt er damit den großen Anspruch auf, den die musikalische Form vorgibt. Auch seine bildnerische Komposition kennt einzelne „Sätze“. Sie fügt sich auf höchst komplexe Weise aus einzelnen Abschnitten zusammen, die jedoch – obgleich kunstvoll verknüpft – in ihrem je eigenen Charakter geachtet werden. So dominiert in Weilers Gemälde eindeutig rechts unten das Blau und rechts oben ein Violett, links ein Grün und in der Mitte oben ein Rot. Das Spektrum der Farben umschließt in seiner Gesamtheit die Vielfalt einer vergeistigten Welt. Auch wenn es zwischen den einzelnen Farben Übergänge, Überlagerungen und Verschränkungen gibt, spürt man deutlich: Weiler achtet die Individualität jeder Farbe, zollt ihr Respekt und behandelt sie mit Liebe. Das gehört zu den Geheimnissen dieses Bildes: Weiler trennt die Farben klar von einander und läßt sie in der ihnen zugewiesenen Region herrschen. Er weiß sie zu verbinden, ohne sie zu vermischen. So behalten sie ihre unverwechselbare Eigenart, ihren eigenen Klang und fügen sich gleichzeitig zu einem harmonischen Bild, das der Gemeinsamkeit und dem Miteinander verpflichtet ist. Max Weiler sagt uns: wir dürfen diese Welt akzeptieren. Sie ist unendlich reich, wenn wir sie nur aufmerksam genug anschauen.


    Wieland Schmied

    Wie eine Symphonie, 1990
    Eitempera auf Leinwand
    500 x 630 cm
    Wie eine Symphonie, 1990
    Eitempera auf Leinwand
    500 x 630 cm
    Ursprüngliche Situation im Hörraum 4 der Salzburger Landesausstellung "Mozart - Bilder und Klänge" im Schloss Kleßheim in Salzburg, 1991
    Wie eine Symphonie, 1990
    Karl-Böhm-Saal Festspielhaus Salzburg
    Innenansicht (Foto: Robert Fleischanderl)
    Wie eine Symphonie, 1990
    Karl-Böhm-Saal Festspielhaus Salzburg
    Innenansicht (Foto: Robert Fleischanderl)
    Detail aus "Wie eine Symphonie", 1990