Max Weiler with a painting from the series "While All Things", 1961

"For while all things were in quiet silence, and that night was in the midst of her swift course, Thine Almighty word leaped down from heaven out of thy royal throne."


Meister Eckhart, who translated that sentence from the Book of Wisdom (18, 14.15), was alluding to the incarnation, as represented in the story of Christmas. The sequence of paintings Weiler dedicated to that sentence belongs in the same context. He had already started exploring the theme in his "Christmas Painting" of 1934 and in his painting "Being (Painting - red shape above. For while all things were in quiet silence)" of 1960.

The monumental "Christmas Painting" (350 x 200 cm) Weiler painted on three mounted plywood panels in 1934 shows a seated male figure, facing towards us, who holds a woman and child on his lap. The creator, with creation in his arms, decides to utter his almighty word when "night is in the midst of her swift course". The group of figures suggests that creation is being carried with care, that redemption will be extended not just to human beings but also to the whole of nature, to the cosmos. The sentence from Solomon's "Book of Wisdom" on which Weiler based the sequence of paintings he produced in 1960/61 first appears on the back of the "Christmas Painting" he did in 1933.


After his experience at the Venice Biennale in 1960, Weiler returned to this spiritual centre of his work and, in little more than a year, produced a sequence of 29 paintings, which he linked together by using each word from the German translation of Solomon's sentence as the title of one of them, with "Things" being represented twice.

It is immediately apparent that Weiler did not seek to illustrate Solomon's sentence but instead wanted to use the means at painting's disposal to evoke the nameless secret that surpasses our imagination. He created a sequence of meditational paintings that enable us to construct the ineffable from within ourselves. Weiler compared his sequence of paintings with a forest created through art, describing them as "the firs, spruces, pines, yews and the silent forest, in which humans are completely alone" (1972). When the paintings were first exhibited in the Tyrolean Chamber of Commerce in Innsbruck at the end of 1961, they were suspended freely in the room, creating a kind of avenue for meditation. "Then I thought of a winding passageway", noted Weiler "wider at some points and narrower at others, a place for meditation, made of bare concrete with asphalt on the ground, and with openings overhead to let in the light. It was for that passageway that I created my paintings. Walking along it, visitors would, if they raised their eyes, repeatedly look for the downward or upwardly supporting flow, in all colour combinations."

In the same year Weiler received the Großer Österreichischer Staatspreis, Austria's most prestigious art prize. His work had now obtained the national and, to some extent, international recognition of which it had long been deprived. In 1964 he was invited to teach at the Akademie der bildenden Künste (Academy of Fine Arts) in Vienna and finally changed his official place of residence.

While, 1960
Egg tempera on canvas
230,5 x 115 cm
All, 1960
Egg tempera on canvas
195 x 205 cm
Things II, 1960
Egg tempera on canvas
205 x 195 cm
Essl Museum Klosterneuburg/Wien
Silence, 1960
Egg tempera on canvas
230,5 x 115 cm
Night, 1961
Egg tempera on canvas
115 x 230 cm
Belvedere Wien
Course, 1961
Egg tempera on canvas
205 x 195 cm
Essl Museum Klosterneuburg/Wien
Leaped, 1961
Egg tempera on canvas
155 x 115 cm
Heaven, 1960
Egg tempera on canvas
205 x 195 cm
Throne, 1961
Egg tempera on canvas
230,5 x 115 cm
Oh, 1961
Egg tempera on canvas
230,5 x 115 cm
Lord, 1961
Egg tempera on canvas
230,5 x 115 cm
Almighty, 1961
Egg tempera on canvas
155 x 115 cm
Word, 1961
Egg tempera on canvas
155 x 115 cm

Max Weiler mit einem Bild aus "Als alle Dinge ...", 1961

"Als alle Dinge in tiefem Schweigen lagen und die Nacht in der Mitte ihres Laufes war, da kam vom Himmel, vom königlichen Throne, O Herr, Dein allmächtiges Wort."


Meister Eckhart, der diesen Satz aus dem Buch der Weisheit (18, 14.15) übersetzt hat, spielt damit auch auf die Inkarnation, d.h. auf die Weihnachtsgeschichte an. Auch für Weiler steht die Bilderfolge, die er dieser Sentenz widmete, in diesem Kontext. Das Thema war bereits mit dem "Weihnachtsbild von 1934" und mit dem Gemälde "Sein (Malerei – oben roter Fleck. Als alle Dinge in tiefem Schweigen lagen)" von 1960 (siehe Kapitel:"Chiffrierte Erkundungen") vorbereitet.

Das alte monumentale "Weihnachtsbild" (350 x 200 cm) von 1934 (siehe Kapitel: "Anfänge und Neuanfänge") auf drei montierte Sperrholzplatten gemalt, zeigt eine frontal sitzende männliche Figur, die eine Frau mit Kind auf dem Schoße hält. Der Schöpfer, der die Schöpfung trägt, entscheidet sich, als "die Nacht in der Mitte ihres Laufes war", sein allmächtiges Wort zu sprechen. Die Figurenkonstellation deutet darauf hin, dass die Schöpfung fürsorglich getragen ist, dass die Erlösung nicht nur den Menschen betrifft, sondern die gesamte Natur, den Kosmos. Auf der Rückseite des "Weihnachtsbildes" von 1933 (siehe Kapitel: "Anfänge und Neuanfänge") findet sich zum ersten Mal jener Satz aus der Weisheit Salomonis, den der Künstler der Bildergruppe von 1960/61 zugrunde gelegt hat.


Nach der Erfahrung auf der venezianischen Biennale 1960 ging der Künstler auf dieses geistige Zentrum seiner Arbeit zurück und entfaltete daraus in einem reichlichen Jahr eine Sequenz von insgesamt 29 Bildern, deren wechselseitige Zuordnung daraus resultiert, dass Weiler jedes Wort des Satzes einem der Gemälde als Titel beifügte, wobei "Dinge" zweimal repräsentiert worden sind.

Schon der erste Blick zeigt, dass Weiler nicht den Versuch macht, die sprachliche Sentenz zu illustrieren. Eher geht es ihm darum, mit den Mitteln der Malerei jenes namenlose, die Vorstellung sprengende Geheimnis zu evozieren. Es geht um eine Folge von Meditationsbildern, die den Betrachter in die Lage versetzen, aus sich selbst jenes Unnennbare aufzubauen. Weiler hat die Bilderfolge mit einem künstlichen Wald verglichen, "die Tannen, Fichten, Föhren, Eiben und der stille Wald, in dem der Mensch ganz allein ist". (1972) Als die Sequenz Ende 1961 erstmals in der Tiroler Handelskammer in Innsbruck ausgestellt wurde, hingen die Bilder frei im Raum, sie fügten sich zu einer Meditationsstraße. "Dann dachte ich an einen gewundenen Gang", bemerkt Weiler, " – bald breiter, bald enger werdend, einen Gang zum Meditieren, aus rohem Beton und Asphalt am Boden, oben Lichtlöcher. Für diesen Gang machte ich die Bilder. Immer wieder sucht der Gehende, wenn er seinen Blick erhebt, das Herabströmende oder das Auffangende in allen Farbkombinationen."

Im selben Jahr erhielt Weiler den Großen Österreichischen Staatspreis. Seine Kunst hatte jetzt die lange entbehrte, nationale und zum Teil auch internationale Anerkennung gefunden. 1964 folgte der Ruf an die Wiener Akademie der bildenden Künste und damit der definitive Wechsel des Lebensortes.

Als, 1960
Eitempera auf Leinwand
230,5 x 115 cm
Alle, 1960
Eitempera auf Leinwand
195 x 205 cm
Dinge II, 1960
Eitempera auf Leinwand
205 x 195 cm
Essl Museum Klosterneuburg/Wien
Schweigen, 1960
Eitempera auf Leinwand
230,5 x 115 cm
Nacht, 1961
Eitempera auf Leinwand
115 x 230 cm
Belvedere, Wien
Laufes, 1961
Eitempera auf Leinwand
205 x 195 cm
Essl Museum Klosterneuburg/Wien
Kam, 1961
Eitempera auf Leinwand
155 x 115 cm
Himmel, 1960
Eitempera auf Leinwand
205 x 195 cm
Throne, 1961
Eitempera auf Leinwand
230,5 x 115 cm
O, 1961
Eitempera auf Leinwand
230,5 x 115 cm
Herr, 1961
Eitempera auf Leinwand
230,5 x 115 cm
Allmächtiges, 1961
Eitempera auf Leinwand
155 x 115 cm
Wort, 1961
Eitempera auf Leinwand
155 x 115 cm